I feel that my subjective conception of the perception of relativity is deconstructed by the questioning of this interrogative negotiating which challenges social norms through it’s portrayal of the subjective conception of the perception of relativity.

I love shiny things. I love them so much that if I’m driving and I see something shiny on the road, I immediately think it’s probably a really pretty piece of jewellery that someone lost and that fate wants me to have. Even after I slow down and realise that no, it’s actually just the tab from a soft drink can, I kind of still want to wear around my neck.

That is how much I love shiny things and the ability to wear them on my body.

I continually struggle between my innate and powerful desire to decorate my face in crystals and my knowledge that I’m not pretty enough to pull it off and that it kind of makes me look like a douchebag.

 

Although this is nice and subtle.

 

I also love all things kitsch (don’t worry, this isn’t just a post about things I love. I’m building to something here.) I love retro, funky, obscure stuff. So naturally, with my love for shiny, weird stuff, I love Oye Moderne and it’s wacked out jewellery. Sure, it’s retardedly expensive, but hey- it’s fun to look at.

Ring shaped like a vinyl record player? Check. Necklace that looks like a pencil shaving? Check mate. A ring that looks like the silhouette of a ring? We’re not even playing chess anymore because you just blew my fucking mind.

But Oye Moderne’s most recent addition to their over priced shop of awesome just made me laugh out loud with complete derision. Not half derision. Complete.

Check it out:

Yep. That’s….that’s a necklace with the clasp at the front. For $120.

Hmmmm.

The ‘design’ for this was ‘inspired’ by Luna Seo’s devil-may-care attitude, her hatred of convention and her daring to question…why necklace clasps have to be at the back: “Why do we hide the most important?”

That’s a good question Luna. You’re like the Calvin Klein of necklaces. Either that or she’s like the retarded bride of Michael Bluth.

 

 

The website says that “The 925 stamp that is usually printed in tiny font on the tag to indicate sterling silver, takes prominence and celebrates the material composition of the necklace.”

 

Profundity.

 

Which is fancy, big city talk for: this is made out of sterling silver and that’s really…all we have.

So you could buy this celebration of the deconstruction of our own assumptions regarding social ritual and the ability to question ourselves and our own subjetive conception of ‘front’ and ‘back’.

 

OR

 


One Comment on “I feel that my subjective conception of the perception of relativity is deconstructed by the questioning of this interrogative negotiating which challenges social norms through it’s portrayal of the subjective conception of the perception of relativity.”

  1. crookedmile says:

    I’ll be honest, what truly surprises me about this necklace, er…”design” (look, I’m trying to be nice here) is that it didn’t pop up on Etsy first. Well, perhaps it did, but I’m not going to check as this is appropriately demoralizing for a Friday afternoon at the office and I don’t want to push it. (Though maybe if I buy this necklace that jaded barista at the local alternative coffeehouse will think I’m beguilingly ironic? Totally? Yes!)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 275 other followers